winter school_pagina dcc

Jointly organized by the Faculty of Human Sciences (Universidade Católica Portuguesa), the Center for Media@Risk at the Annenberg School for Communication (University of Pennsylvania), the School of Journalism and Communication (Chinese University of Hong Kong), the Annenberg School for Media and JOurnalism (University of Sourthern California), and the Faculty of Social Sciences (University of Helsinki), the Lisbon Winter School for the Study of Communication takes a comparative and global approach to the study of emerging topics in the field of media and communication.

In 2022/23 the Winter School theme was “Media and Propaganda” and featured the following keynote speakers:

  • Sarah Banet-Weiser (University of Southern California)
  • Kecheng Fang (Chinese Univeristy of Hong Kong)
  • Ciara Greene (University  College Dublin)
  • Admire Mare ((University of Johannesburg)
  • Nina L. Khrushcheva (The New School)
  • Courtney C. Radsch (UCLA)
  • Nelson Ribeiro (Universidade Católica Portuguesa)
  • Francesca Tripodi (University of North Carolina)
  • David Welch (University of Kent)


In 2019/20, the Winter School theme was “Media and Uncertainty” and featured the following keynote speakers:

  • Teresa Ashe (The Open University)
  • Sonia Livingstone (London School of Economics & Political Science)
  • Fathali Moghaddam (Georgetown University)
  • Victor Pickard (Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania)
  • James Painter (University of Oxford)
  • Saskia Witteborn (Chinese University of Hong Kong)
  • Barbie Zelizer (Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania)
  • Carla Ganito (Universidade Católica Portuguesa)


In 2018/19, the Winter School theme was “Media and Populism” and featured the following keynote speakers:

  • Barbie Zelizer (Annenberg School for Communication)
  • Francis Lee (Chinese University of Hong Kong)
  • Karin Wahl-Jorgensen (Cardiff University
  • Nelson Ribeiro (Universidade Católica Portuguesa)
  • Risto Kunelius (University of Tampere)
  • Rolien Hoyng (Chinese University of Hong Kong)
  • Ruth Wodak (LAncaster University)
  • Sarah Banet-Weiser (London School of Economics and Political Sciences)
  • Silvio Waisbord (George Washington University)
For more information please visit the Lisbon Winter School for the Study of Communication website.


Admissions Office - PhD


Phone: (+351) 217 214 281